News & Announcements










​Sir Ian Taylor receives Honorary Doctorate_1
attached file : AAPBS Submission June 2022.docx

Sir Ian Taylor receives Honorary Doctorate

Founder of the computer graphics production house “Animation Research LTD” and media company “Taylormade Productions”, Sir Ian Taylor, has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Otago’s Business School.
The Māori entrepreneur and technical innovator graduated with a Bachelor of Laws from the University in 1976 and has since been named New Zealand Innovator of the Year (2019), Deloitte Top 200 Visionary Leader of the Year (2020) and received a Knighthood for his services to broadcasting, business and the community (2021).

“What makes me really proud is the Otago University students who started this company with me back in 1990 are still with me and this is really as much a recognition of them as it is me because I could not have done any of this without them,” Sir Ian says.

You can read more about Sir Ian Taylor on the
Otago Bulletin or listen to his story at Te Hiku Media.


 Dr Murat Ungor shares why students should explore a career in economics

Based in the Department of Economics at the University of Otago, Dr Murat Üngör, shares what led to his research pathway and why incoming students should consider pursuing the field of economics.
“Constructing and analysing economic models teaches us a lot about the world we live in,” Dr Üngör says.
“These require mathematical ability and analytical thinking, which are important skills for every student of economics and so I would encourage students to be ready to engage with the data presented to them and the economic analysis that comes with this.”
You can read more about Dr Üngör’s perspective on the
Otago Bulletin.

CA ANZ awards scholarships to dedicated students

The Chartered Accountants of Australia & New Zealand (CA ANZ) recently awarded seven scholarships to students in the University of Otago’s Department of Accounting and Finance worth a combined value of $850.

Students Cian Hallissey, Jaden McHerron, Caleb Moody, Demitra Soulis (top 1st year accounting students), Matthew Maitland (best 2nd year student), Vera Goesmann (top 3rd year student), James Burnett and Chotipat Leksakul (second-equal 3rd year students) were the recipients of the awards.
“It’s great to see these students get the recognition they deserve after all their hard work,” Associate Professor Helen Roberts says.
“We’re so grateful to the CA ANZ for taking the time to come to campus, meet with students, share their insights, and acknowledge the work that they are doing to start building their careers in the industry.”
Department of Accountancy and Finance


Left to right: Associate Professor Robin Gauld, Nicky Hudson, Demitra Soulis, James Burnett, Cian Hallissey, Jaden McHerron, Caleb Moody and Professor Jin Zhang.




Prominent alumnus, John McMahon, visits economics students

Prominent Chartered Finance Analyst, John McMahon, visited the University of Otago to share some of the insights he has gained over his extensive career as a financial analyst and listed company director.

Meeting with students from the Department of Accountancy and Finance, John discussed his time in financial markets and how NZ's capital markets have evolved over time, along with issues and opportunities in investment management.

He has been a non-executive Director of the New Zealand Stock Exchange, NZX, and is non-executive Director and Chair of Solution Dynamics and a non-executive director of Wellington Drive Technologies.

He has worked in senior positions at BZW, ABN AMRO, Morgan Stanley and as Managing Director of ASB Securities, as well as successfully running his own investment portfolio.

John is an alumnus of the Otago Business School, having completed his Bachelor’s and part of his Masters of Business Administration there.





Left to right: Associate Professor Robin Gauld, John McMahon and Dr Muhammad Cheema.



Business Schools; It’s time to attract, expand and diversify_ETS


Thammasat Business School, Thammasat University_2